Introduction to my Process

Process

-The act of proceeding; continued forward movement; procedure, progress, advance.

-From Old French procés (“journey”), from Latin processus, past participle of procedo.

– A particular course of action intended to achieve a result; “the procedure of obtaining a driver’s license”; “it was a process of trial and error”.

My name is Mauricio Jiménez and I’m a human being who happens to cook for a living. I’m not a doctor, nor a nutritionist or a diet guru, I am a Chef, and as a Chef I’ve had my share of ups and downs regarding body weight issues. I am not writing this blog in order to tell you what to do with your life, and neither am I interested in starting the next “weight loss” revolution. My only wish is to share with my readers (if any) about my new life process which I recently embarked on ( merely two weeks ago) and log in what I accomplish by following my own weight loss process.

This blog will be written in plain English and I will try to keep it as simple as possible, because simple always seems to work best. I will also share information I have learned through my many years of trial and error, along with the compiled written information I have gathered thru many years of reading books about weight loss, nutrition and metabolism. I will point out these books from time to time but it is not my intention to copy them word-by-word. I began to read such publications during the days when I worked as a personal Chef. In those days I decided to offer my services solely to convalescent patients, something I always found to be not only interesting, but in fact challenging and highly educational.

By now you may have wondered why I haven’t used the word “diet” in this monologue about weight loss. The answer is quite simple:

Diets simply don’t work.

Unfortunately the word diet has become an equivalent to weight loss in today’s society and quite sadly, nothing could be further from the truth. I use the term process to indicate that this won’t be a quick-fix solution and no, I don’t expect to reach my weight loss overnight either, this will take time. I decided to use the word process in order to illustrate the fact that everything that causes change in earth’s nature, including the human body, only becomes effective through the use of an organic process. In other words; your body needs to endure a process in order to make changes. Whether it’s gaining weight or losing it, healing a bone or giving birth to a baby, everything evolves from a systematic process that makes everything real and organically tangible.

A diet is nothing more than a temporary fix to a long-term problem, whereas a process is a call to action, the starting point of something that provokes change.

This weight loss process involves the following steps; consider them a guideline or a compass that helps put everything into proper perspective.

  1. Make the decision
  2. Plan your process
  3. Envision what you want
  4. Take action
  5. “Sail the Process”*
  6. Stay the course
  7. Enjoy the results

In tomorrow’s post I’ll start sharing the details of what I’m currently doing in order to achieve a better-looking and healthier body.

Now remember this: I am not writing this from an “Ivory Tower”. I’m doing this as we speak. As a matter of fact, I’ll put on my running shoes and head out to the gym as soon as I’m finished writing this note.

You’re cordially invited to share in the process. The more the merrier!

More importantly, let’s enjoy it and have fun while we’re doing it!

All the best,

Mauricio

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Introduction to my Process

  1. Andy says:

    Good post, thanks for sharing. Look forward to reading more on this topic in future. Andy

  2. yvette says:

    OH THANKS SO MUCH !!! U are fantastic….

Leave a Reply

